The yarn dresser

11

“The power over the lives of others is overwhelming. It is a great power to have as it can be seen from the history of mankind. The man has always wanted to have power over other animals and over his own kind. This power is like a narcotic whose effect grows up on you with time. The more the people are under you, the more you want. There is no end to this. People have died throughout our history in the quest for this power. Now the question is: will this power keep on dictating its terms on us? Why do we submit to it even though we don’t want to fight and kill? Maybe, deep down inside we want to pursue a game of prey every now and then just to serve our appetite for aggression. We force ourselves on others to get a certain kick out of it. Dominance is a virtue which most of the people love. I love to dominate those who work for me. I want them to serve me with all their souls,” I kept on only to be interrupted by George.

“Sir, I am afraid you are speaking of things which may disturb others. It’s better that you keep your distance from your acquaintances as much as possible. I am also limiting the presence of other servants around you.”

“Yes, you are right. I have lost my mind. I hardly make out what comes out of my mouth. It seems like ages since I felt like myself. I have been difficult for you. You should…”

“Sir, please. I am honored to serve you at this hour of your journey. It is my duty. I swore to serve your family till my last breath and I am not stepping back. I guess you have to tolerate my presence.”

“You are a good man with a good heart. I don’t know what I will do without you. Let me now rest. I want to rest and forget about the world once and for all. No more grumpy me.”

Leave a comment